Triathlon

My last chemo was over two weeks ago.  I thought finishing it would feel like the end of a race.  Like running over the finish line through the balloon arches, into the cheering crowds.

But it feels more like limping over the line, only to realize this isn’t just a running race.  Joel says it is a triathlon. And he is right.  I just finished the first leg of a three part journey.  Chemo was probably the biking part.  I’m not a very good biker and have never been in a bike race.  I’m glad it is over, but it was just part one.  I’m getting water, eating a banana, and changing into my swimsuit.

And you. You’ve been cheering me along.  You’ve been screaming and waving signs– and your arms are sore and your voice is hoarse.  You are tired, too.  And I hate this part.  The realizing that you are tired too, and I still have two more legs of the journey to go.  I’m sorry.  I wish I didn’t need you still.  But I do.  You’ve made me meals, taken my kids to swim lessons, sent me cards and gifts, left me voicemails, bought me dinner, shoveled my walk, done my laundry, cleaned my house, rubbed my feet, taken me on walks, listened to me cry, and been my hope when I couldn’t find mine.  You’ve loved me close up, and from a far.  You’ve carried me when I couldn’t even crawl.  And I hate that this isn’t over for you either.  I know you are tired, too.

I guess surgery is the swim.  I’ve swam in races before.  I was never great, but I was good.  I know a little about the needles, the pain meds, the beeping of hospital machines.  I have some experience with surgery.  I will need to hear your voices when I come up for air.  I will need you to dry me off and help me put on my shoes while I wait to hear if my lymph nodes are benign or tainted with cancerous tissue.  The swim could end with news of needing radiation.  I will want to quit.  Don’t let me.

And next: the run.  This part involves ovarian suppression shots and hormone blockers for the next five years of my life.  This is a long run.  But I am a runner.  I know how to push myself when all I want to do is stop.  I know the thrill of finishing the race.  And I pray that this will be my finish. I will be 41-years-old in five years.  And I pray that I am cancer-free and remain that way for the rest of my life.  I need to believe that this is how the triathlon will end.  I need to picture myself crossing that finish line, and running through the balloon arches.  Maybe I’ll even have enough hair for a ponytail.

Will you be there still? Can you cheer that long?

I find out on Wednesday if my white blood cells are moving in the right direction.  Please pray that they are.

Cancer has humbled me.  This would be an impossible journey without you, and without my faith.  I am grateful beyond words. I am so lucky to have you.  Please know your gentle words of kindness, have lifted me up in ways I can’t explain.  No small act has gone unnoticed.  Each stone ripples the water reminding me that I am not alone.

Today I had to shave my armpits.  A cruel irony that my armpit hair is growing faster than the hair on my head.  But this is progress.  Armpit hair, blossoming flowers — both signs of spring.

3 thoughts on “Triathlon

  1. Yeah, you made it through the first leg! You mean so much to all of us as well. Truly, your faith in God is inspiring and your humble gratitude for human kindness is uplifting. I will be praying for clear lymph nodes and an abundance of blood cells!

    Like

  2. We CAN and WILL cheer that long (and longer)! We’ll cheer for you, cheer for armpit hair, cheer for spring and lazy summer days. We’ll cheer when you’re underwater and can’t tell that we’re cheering and when you come up for air. We’ll cheer for white blood cell counts as high as the sky and for balloons at the finish line that soar above and beyond. We’ll release some too, so you’ll see them miles down the road. We ‘ll cheer with the boys on our shoulders waving you on and with Joel leading the way. Make no mistake, we’ll be there. And we’ll cheer! For years and years, we’ll cheer!!!

    Like

  3. Melissa,
    I haven’t read your blog in a while – both Jill’s and Karen’s family came to NC and we had a great time out in the mountains. And other stuff going on at home has kept me away from your messages. But today I needed to catch up with what is happening with you. As always, I am struck by your ability to put into words that we can all understand about where you are in your battle with cancer. For it is a battle. I know for sure that how you manage yourself during this awful time affects so much about whether you will win or not. Officers understand that they need to keep morale up and all of us out here that love you know that we need to keep up your morale so that you can fight the fight. But as we give to you, you give back to us. I am way older than you but you are a hero to me. I think about what is on your plate and know that you are an example for me to follow every day. You get up and you do what you have to regardless. You WILL WN this battle because of your faith and your spirit. Please know that I pray for you daily.
    Barbara

    Like

Leave a Reply

