From Joel

Hello Everyone-

As many of you know, my good friend Amy and I have been doing Race for the Cure together for over 10 years to help honor our mothers who we each lost to breast cancer.

I always thought that I made it through the dark stretch inflicted by this disease and come out the other side;  although forever changed, it was far in my distant past.  I thought participating in the race was time to reflect on my past and to help ensure that other six year old boys wouldn’t have to deal with the loss of a mother.  I was convinced that I had my time.

Of course, life doesn’t always work out the way you think.  I never imagined that my beautiful, strong, fun, and light of my life — wife, would ever have to go through something like this.  We aren’t out of the woods yet, but this Race is something that she has been wanting to do since the day she was diagnosed as a sign that she too went through the darkness and came out on the other side.

We know that all of you have done so much for us over the past six months and I can’t imagine where we’d be without each one of you.  I am extending an invitation to you to join us in the walk (you don’t have to run at all) not to raise money for the Komen foundation, but as a time for us to support and surround Melissa with 60,000 others to walk in solidarity to honor those we’ve lost, and to celebrate Melissa and those who have been faced with this disease and have come through the other side.

If you can make it on June 13th, we’d love to be with each one of you.  You can click on the link below to join our team.  We are so grateful for all that you have done for our family during this difficult time.

Team United

For those of you that can make it, we’ll have a “sliver of green” to give you…

Love,

Joel

Leave a Reply

