Get to Second Base with Yourself

breast cancer awareness month

It is breast cancer awareness month.  I see reminders everywhere.  Pink signs, bracelets, commercials.  Pink jerseys, t-shirts, shoes, earrings.  I even saw pink construction hats.

For me, the pink makes me feel a lump in my throat.  I am glad there is awareness, but it is a constant reminder of what I have been through, and what I am still fighting.

I am 36.  Many of my friends do not do self breast exams.  They think they are too young.  Or they think they have to do them a certain day of the month, and they forget which day.  Here is what I have to say:

Get to second base with yourself.  Every time you shower.  Soap up those hands and feel yourself up.  It might save your life.

It saved mine.

I was always confused about what day of the month to do my self exam.

My general doctor mentioned at my check up last year that she advises her patients to just notice their breasts every time they shower.  If anything feels strange, or different, or makes you take a second feel — get it checked out.

Don’t rationalize.  Don’t ignore.  Don’t forget.

Every time you shower.  Just notice your breasts.

I made an appointment.  Nurse practitioner said she thought it felt like a cyst.  Said I could wait 3-6 months and just look out for changes.  I had that feeling, that nagging feeling.  So I said, “no”. I asked to get an ultrasound.  So glad I did.

Feel yourself up, and listen to your body.

Please. Please. Please.

It has been 11 months since I got that life-changing news.  On some days it felt like walking through fire.  On some days it felt like sinking to the bottom of the ocean.  On some days it felt like sadness, and sickness might melt away my light.  But I am so grateful.  Grateful that I caught it early.  Grateful that I pushed for further tests.  Grateful that I’m going to be okay.

Don’t put yourself last.  Take time to care for yourself.

Please. Please. Please.

No excuses.

Get to second base with yourself.

Leave a Reply

